More Kudla


MEET DENIS KUDLA from “On The Go Tennis” Blog

Denis Kudla is one of the rising American stars on the ATP World Tour. Today he stunned Ivo Karlovic in his first round at Newport, 7-6 (4), 4-6, 6-4, and afterwards he sat down with me to do a quick off-court Q & A.

Q. What is your greatest moment on the tennis court?
Definitely today, today was my greatest moment, beating Ivo Karlovic. It just gave me a sense of belief that I could really make it. I’ll also say, when I was 14 or 15, being on Arthur Ashe Stadium and playing on Arthur Ashe Kid’s Day. It was really incredible for me. Seeing Federer and Nadal, looking up to them as a young kid, it was just a dream.

Q. What is your biggest pet peeve?
I would probably say someone who does everything really slow and takes their time on everything, or chewing with your mouth open. I can’t stand that.

Q. What is your greatest fear?
Spiders. I’m terrified of spiders. Even on the internet I freak out.

Q. Any nicknames?
A lot people call me Kuds, you know Kudla’s my last name, and that’s pretty much it.

Q. Do you have a lucky charm that you bring on the court?
No, not really. I try to get away from superstition and lucky things because then I’ll depend on it too much. I use this chain, [points to neck] a cross from my Grandma from Ukraine, so I consider that my lucky charm.

Q. Do you still have a lot of family in Ukraine?
No, not really, I just have a grandma over there now.

Q. When did you come over to the States?
I was one.

CLICK HERE for the entire article

Leave a comment